This Week at Good Shepherd, September 23-28, 2019

Tuesday, September 24
7:00 p.m. – CLA Circle – Ann Naslund hosts

Wednesday, September 25
5:30 p.m. – Confirmation Class
7:00 p.m. – Choir Practice
8:00 p.m. – Band Practice

Thursday, September 26
1:00 p.m. – Memorial Service – John Bale

Sunday, September 29 – 16th Sunday after Pentecost
8:45 a.m. – Choir warmup
9:30 a.m. – Worship Service with Holy Communion
10:30 a.m. – Fellowship Hour
10:45 a.m. – Sunday School and Youth Forum

This Week at Good Shepherd, September 16-22, 2019

Tuesday, September 17
7:00 p.m. – Council Meeting

Wednesday, September 18
1:00 p.m. – Prayer Shawl Ministry – Jeri Laursen hosts
5:30 p.m. – Confirmation Class
7:00 p.m. – Choir Practice
8:00 p.m. – Band Practice

Thursday, September 19
12 noon – Centering Prayers
5:00 p.m. – Community Meal at Decorah Lutheran Church

Friday, September 20
11:00 a.m. – Stewardship Committee

Sunday, September 22 –15th Sunday after Pentecost
9:30 a.m. – Worship with Holy Communion
10:30 a.m. – Fellowship Hour
10:45 a.m. – Sunday School and Youth Forum

Please excuse the mess during the renovation process!

The radio broadcast is temporarily suspended as we address technical difficulties.

This Week at Good Shepherd, September 9-15, 2019

Tuesday, September 10
9:30 a.m. – Anna Circle – at Aase Haugen, all contribute
4:45 p.m. – Education Committee
5:15 p.m. – Worship and Music Committee

Wednesday, September 11
10:00 a.m. – Miriam Circle -Carrie Solberg hosts
10:30 a.m. – Communion at Aase Haugen
5:30 p.m. – Confirmation Class
7:00 p.m. – Choir Practice
8:00 p.m. – Band Practice

Thursday, September 12
12 noon – Centering Prayers

Sunday, September 15 – 14th Sunday after Pentecost
9:30 a.m. – Jazz Worship Servicewith Holy Communion

10:30 a.m. – Fellowship Hour
10:50 a.m. – Sunday School and Youth Forum
5:00 p.m. – 10th Annual Welcome Friends and Neighbors Picnic

Memorial Service for John Bale, September 26, 1:00 pm

John Bale, a charter member of Good Shepherd, died peacefully on Monday, September 2. A memorial service will be Thursday, September 26 at 1:00 pm with visitation at 12:00 pm with Pastor Amy Larson officiating. Inurnment will be in Lutheran Cemetery in Decorah.

John is survived by his daughter Ruth Bale Lippincott and her husband Joe of Grand Isle, VT; and his brother Harold Bale of Eagan, MN.  

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be given to the John and Mabel Bale Scholarship Fund at Luther College, c/o Development Office, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA 52101 or Good Shepherd Lutheran Church 701 Iowa Ave., Decorah, IA 52101.

An obituary  may be found here.

Blessed be the memory of John Bale. Light perpetual shine upon him, O God, and grant him eternal rest.

This Week at Good Shepherd, September 2-8, 2019

Monday, September 2 – Office closed

Tuesday, September 3 – Office closed

Wednesday, September 4
7:00 p.m. – Choir Practice
8:00 p.m. – Band Practice

Thursday, September 5
12 noon – Centering Prayers
5:00 p.m. – Community Meal at Decorah Lutheran

Sunday, September 8 –13th Sunday after Pentecost – Rally Sunday
8:45 a.m. – Choir Warm-up
9:30 a.m. – Worship with Holy Communion – broadcast 11:00 a.m.
10:30 a.m. – Fellowship Hour
10:50 a.m. – Sunday School and Youth Forum